Ananthan is a member of the Eelam People’s Revolutionary Liberation Front (EPRLF). On 20 October 2001 the All Ceylon Tamil Congress, EPRLF, Tamil Eelam Liberation Organization and Tamil United Liberation Front formed the Tamil National Alliance (TNA).[2][3] Ananthan contested the 2001 parliamentary election as one of the TNA’s candidates in Vanni District. He was elected and entered Parliament.[4] He was re-elected at the 2004, 2010 and 2015 parliamentary elections.[5][6][7][8][9]

1.^ “Directory of Members: Sivasakthy Ananthan”. Parliament of Sri Lanka.
2.^ Jeyaraj, D. B. S. “Tamil National Alliance enters critical third phase – 1”. The Daily Mirror (Sri Lanka). Archived from the original on 4 April 2010.
3. ^ “Tamil parties sign MOU”. TamilNet. 20 October 2001.
4.^ a b “General Election 2001 Preferences” (PDF). Department of Elections, Sri Lanka.
5.^ Jump up to: a b “General Election 2004 Preferences” (PDF). Department of Elections, Sri Lanka.
6.^ Jump up to: a b “Parliamentary General Election – 2010 Vanni Preferences” (PDF). Department of Elections, Sri Lanka.
7.^ “PART I : SECTION (I) — GENERAL Government Notifications PARLIAMENTARY ELECTIONS ACT, No. 1 OF 1981” (PDF). The Gazette of the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka Extraordinary. 1928/03. 19 August 2015.
8.^ “Ranil tops with over 500,000 votes in Colombo”. The Daily Mirror (Sri Lanka). 19 August 2015.
9.^ “Preferential Votes”. Daily News (Sri Lanka). 19 August 2015.
10.^ Jayakody, Pradeep (28 August 2015). “The Comparison of Preferential Votes in 2015 & 2010”. The Daily Mirror (Sri Lanka).